Builder Licensing

All residential builders in British Columbia, building under Part 9 of the BC Building Code, need to meet BC Housing’s Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements to maintain your building license.


BC HOUSING CPD UPDATE: Effective July 1, 2019, BC Housing changes to the CPD points process include:

  • Active practice category for 20 points of CPD is removed;
  • 20 CPD points are required instead of 40; and
  • Nominees may be able to carry up to 20 extra earned CPD points over from one licence term to the next.  Builders also no longer have to take a majority of CPD points in a particular category (known as “category A” in the previous regulation).  Click here for more information via the BC Housing website.

Core competencies: Relevant Enactments (building code), Construction Management and Supervision, Construction Technology, and Customer Service and Home Warranty Insurance, Financial Planning and Budget Management, Legal Issues, Business Planning, Management and Administration, and Business Ethics.

For more information on the CPD points program, visit BC Housing.

How to become a Licensed Builder

CHBA BC, our provincial association, offers certification courses to become a licensed builder or professional renovator. Gain recognition in your career and or company with Certified Housing Professional, Certified Renovation Professional, and Master Residential Builder programs. 

HAVAN members receive 25% off CHBA BC Certification courses.